Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission is the decision maker for site plans and conditional use permits in the City of Surprise.

The commission makes recommendations to the Surprise City Council on all zoning or rezoning, as well as preliminary plats and general plan amendments.

Members also recommend such regulations and restrictions concerning the erection, construction, reconstruction, alteration, repair or use of buildings, structures or land, as it shall deem to be in the best interests of the city and its inhabitants.

The members of the Planning and Zoning Commission shall be appointed to staggered, four-year terms. Those office terms begin and expire on July 1.

Check the calendar below for upcoming Planning and Zoning Commission meetings.

The Planning and Zoning Commission meetings are bi-monthly on the 1st and 3rd Thursdays of the month at 6:00 p.m. in Council Chambers (excluding holidays). These meetings are televised on Surprise TV and streamed online at

If you wish to leave a comment or address the Planning and Zoning Commission at one of their meetings, please use the public comment form below.

Planning & Zoning Commission Comment Form
For more information about the Planning and Zoning Commission, please contact Lorraine Nevarez at 623.222.3154 or

Commission Members: Term Expires:
Ken Chapman - Chair June 30, 2019
Mitchell Rosenbaum - Vice Chair September 6, 2020
Matthew Keating
June 30, 2019
Dennis Bash June 30, 2019
Gisele Norberg June 30, 2019
Eric Cultum September 6, 2020
Dennis W. Smith September 6, 2020
  1. Meetings
  2. Agendas & Minutes

July 2018

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
View All