What is the law regarding child restraints in Arizona?
Children 0 – 5 years old must be restrained in a car seat. Children 5 – 16 years old must be restrained in a seat belt. However, the law does not protect your child. Seat belts are designed to fit adults. Children should be restrained in some type of seat, whether it is a five-point harness or a belt positioning booster, until they fit the seat belt like an adult. The general guideline is 4’9” tall and 80 – 100 pounds.

Show All Answers

Q: How long does an appointment last?
Q: What should I bring to an appointment?
Q: Why should we have our car seat(s) installed by a trained technician?
Q: What is the law regarding child restraints in Arizona?
Q: When can my child sit in the front seat?
Q: What should I do if my child won’t stay in her/his car seat or seat belt?