View Other Items in this Archive |
View All Archives | Printable Version
14250 W. Statler Plaza
Surprise, Arizona 85374
|For Immediate Release
||September 19, 2013
||Sergeant Mike Donovan
Public Information Officer
It's Child Passenger Safety Week! Surprise Police Offer Car Seat Help
Find Out if Your Child is in the Right Seat & How to Install it Correctly
Have questions about selecting and installing a car seat? Learn how to:
• find a car seat that fits your child
• find a seat that is right for your vehicle
• how to properly install the car seat
Monthly Car Seat Clinics
1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each monthSchedule a Car Seat Inspection
Fire Station 305
15517 N. Parkview Place
Call Surprise Police at 623 222-4291 to schedule an appointment with a certified inspector.
Know When there is a Recall of Your Car Seat
Get Email Alerts from National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
Sign up for e-mail alerts about car seat and booster seat recalls from the NHTSA. Sign-up on the NHTSA web site.
Register with the Car Seat Manufacturer
Register your seat with the manufacturer. Click here for a helpful list of manufacturer links.
It's the Law!
Drivers who do not properly use car seats for young passengers face a $154.50 fine if they are cited. If a person who was cited comes to court with proof of owning a car seat after the original violation, the Surprise City Court will find the person responsible for the violation but they will not be fined.
Children Are Priceless Passengers (CAPP) Program
CAPP was created to reduce the infant and toddler death and injuries in Arizona by educating the public on the effectiveness of continuous and proper use of child safety seats. A two hour child safety class in both English and Spanish are instructed by nationally certified child safety seat technicians costs $35 and includes a free car seat for those individuals needing a proper seat. Learn more on the Arizona Governor's Office of Highway Safety site...
For more info, contact: