|Arizona State Income Tax Interception Program
|The Surprise City Court may have received payment on your behalf through the Arizona State Income Tax Inception Program. Please note that although a refund intercept satisfies fines due at this court, driving priviledges will remain suspended through MVD until reinstatement fees are paid. Reinstatement fees may be paid at any MVD office.
|MVD General Public Phone Numbers
|Elsewhere in AZ: 800-251-5866
|Credit Card Reinstatement: 877-301-8093
|Please Note: Customer should call the General Public Number prior to calling and reinstating telephonically to make certain the complaint is on the MVD Database.
|Internet Reinstatement at: www.servicearizona.com
Fines & Sanctions Schedules
Once you have entered a plea or have been found guilty or responsible of a violation, you have an obligation to pay your fines on the date of sentencing. When you plead “Guilty” or “No Contest” to criminal violations, or “Responsible” in civil traffic violations charged against you, you must make full payment for all fines/sanctions imposed.
Calculate What You Owe
To calculate the total amount due on a civil traffic citation, refer to the bond envelope given to you by the officer at the time your citation was issued. Add the fine for each violation on the citation. Refer to the Fines & Sanction Schedule if you did not receive one.
If you are not sure of the violation charged, or the fine amount due, contact the Court at 623.222.4800 or appear in person during regular business hours.
Making Your Payment
Click on a topic below to learn more:
» How do I make a payment in person?
Proceed to the front counter located in the lobby of the Court.
The Court accepts the following payment types:
- Debit Cards
- Personal Checks; Certified Checks
- Money Orders
THIRD PARTY Check are NOT accepted
Note: Personal checks NOT accepted on cases with an active warrant.
» How to make a payment by mail?
Mail your payment to:
Surprise City Court
16081 N. Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
Please include your citation or case number on the envelope.
Please do not send cash.
» How do I make a payment by phone?
With a Master Card or VISA credit card. Call 623.222.4800.
Payment Drop Box
You can drop off violation payments to the Court in a specially designated payment drop box located in front of the Court near the mailboxes. The payment drop box is accessible 24 hours a day, seven days a week. No cash payments please.
- A receipt will be issued for every payment made in person, by mail, and over the telephone. A self addressed, stamped envelope is required for receipt to be mailed back to payee.
- A $15 fee will be added to the account paid on where there are ‘Insufficient Funds’ or the check is otherwise returned to the court from the bank.
- Please save all your receipts. This is your proof of payment.
- Overpayments less than $10.00 will be refunded only upon written request received within 10 business days of date posted.
If you are financially unable to meet your court ordered obligation on the day of sentencing, you may request a payment plan. This can only be considered once you have completed the detailed financial application and make a required down payment.
If you do not pay in full, or if you fail to report to the Court on your scheduled date, the Court will:
- Order you to appear in Court to explain your failure to comply with Court Orders to pay (for criminal offenses only). In addition, a $100 Administrative Fee will be added to your total obligation.
- If any of your charges are classified as criminal and you fail to obey orders to pay, a warrant may be issued for your arrest. In addition, a $100 Administrative Fee will be added to your total obligation.
- If your charges are classified as civil traffic and you fail to obey orders to pay, the Court will notify the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) of the default and MVD will place a suspension on your driving privilege. Driving on a suspended privilege is a criminal traffic offense that could result in arrest. In addition, a $50 Administrative Fee will be added to your total obligation.
The Court will also:
- Refer your case to a collection agency, which will add fees to the balance owing.
- Notify a credit-reporting bureau of your delinquent balance.
- Notify the Arizona Department of Revenue to attach your income tax refund.
Important: If you were cited for 28-701.02 (A1, A2 or A3) you must appear on your court date.
Fines due immediately
The Court expects that fines will be paid in full and as quickly as possible. These expectations are expressed in notices from the Court, or on behalf of the Court emphasizing payment due on the date of sentencing.
A.R.S. 28-645A3A and 28-647.1- State law requires all persons to attend and successfully complete Traffic Survival School (TSS) for those found responsible for a red light or flashing red light violation, unless they are eligible and attend Defensive Driving School. If you are required to attend TSS, you will receive notice from Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) that will provide additional information.
A.R.S. 28-907A-CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT- Mail purchase receipt for a child passenger restraint system after date and time complaint was issued and fine shall be reduced to $0. Complete CAPP class (reference Civil Traffic Offenses page) and charge shall be dismissed upon proof of completion.
A.R.S. 28-2153A- NO PROOF OF REGISTRATION- Mail or fax proof of current AZ registration to have the sanction reduced to $140. Send check/money order or provide credit/debit card information before your court date unless other arrangements have been made.
A.R.S. 28-3169A- NO DRIVER LICENSE IN POSSESSION- Mail or present valid proof of current driver license to have the sanction reduced to zero.
Return the Main Court Page