|Car Seat Program
Car seat clinics are available through the Surprise Fire Department. View for more information.
What happens if I show up at a fire station unannounced, without an appointment?
There will not be a certified car seat technician available. The firefighters on duty will refer you to contact Fire Administration at 623-222-5000.
How long does an appointment last?
An appointment will last approximately 30 – 45 minutes. You will be instructed on the design and function of your seat, proper fit and installation for your vehicle, and how to secure your child in the seat accurately.
What should I bring to an appointment?
1. The child (unless you are pregnant or cannot travel safely with the child.)
2. The car seat’s owner’s manual.
3. Your vehicle’s owner’s manual.
Why are installations by appointment only?
Every agency in the valley installs car seats by appointment only so that our citizens are guaranteed a certified car seat technician for their entire appointment.
Why should we have our car seat(s) installed by a trained technician?
Each vehicle, seat belt and car seat presents a unique and sometimes challenging situation. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as many as 85% of car seats are installed incorrectly. Having your seat(s) checked by a trained technician will lower the risk of your children being unnecessarily injured in a crash.
What is the law regarding child restraints in Arizona?
Children 0 – 5 years old must be restrained in a car seat. Children 5 – 16 years old must be restrained in a seat belt. However, the law does not protect your child. Seat belts are designed to fit adults. Children should be restrained in some type of seat, whether it is a five-point harness or a belt positioning booster, until they fit the seat belt like an adult. The general guideline is 4’9” tall and 80 – 100 pounds.
When can my child sit in the front seat?
When properly restrained, children are safest in the backseat of a vehicle. Using a lap and shoulder belt, the center, rear position is the safest since there is more vehicle surrounding the child on every side. Children are particularly vulnerable to the explosive impact of an air bag. Please keep your children in the backseat until they are at least 13 years old.
What should I do if my child won’t stay in her/his car seat or seat belt?
Children do not know what is best for them, make it clear they will not be allowed to travel anywhere until they are properly restrained and must remain so for the entire time traveling. Pull to the side of the road and stop if they unlatch themselves. Set a good example by always buckling up the moment you get in the car.
Where can I go for assistance sooner than your scheduled clinics? View list of agencies
We do not offer a car seat rental program due to liability issues for the city.
You can contact the agency “Anything For Baby” at 480.515.9783.
Car Seat Safety Information Contact: Click Here
Car Seat Recall Information Contact: Click Here
Arizona State law for Child Car Seats: Click Here
Community Life Safety Education
14250 W. Statler Plaza, Suite 101
Surprise, AZ 85374