
Option 3: Request a Court hearing. 
Request a Hearing to contest the Civil Traffic violation(s). You will have an oppor-
tunity to present evidence and have witnesses testify on your behalf. If you are 

found  

responsible, the fine(s) are due in full by 5 p.m. on the day of the hearing. Com-
plete the following five  (5) steps and mail. 

 

If you request a hearing you will not be able to attend defensive driving school. 

 

Step 1: Circle the corresponding number (1-5) as it appears on the traffic ticket for 

each violation for which you are requesting a hearing: 
 

 

 
 

 

Step 2: Read and sign the following statements: 
I enter a plea of not responsible and request a court hearing for the violation(s) 

circled above. 

Option 4: Appear in Court. 
Surprise City Court is open from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Thursday, 
except holidays (to pay the fine(s), show proof of compliance and/or request a 

hearing). 

Option 2: Pay by phone, mail, or in person. 
 
You may pay your civil traffic violation(s) by phone, by mail, or in person unless 

the violation: 

 Is marked Criminal Traffic or, 

 Involved an accident with serious injury or death, or 

 Is not listed on the Fines/Sanction Schedule 

 

Pay by Phone Call (623)222/4854 
Pay in Person 16081 N. Civic Center Plaza, Surprise, AZ 85374 

  Monday - Thursday from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. except holidays 

Pay by mail in 4 steps: 

Step 1: Write the six(6) or eight(8) digit ticket number as it appears on the upper 

corner of the traffic ticket: 

 

 

 
Step 2: Use the fine schedule to determine the fine for each violation listed on your 

ticket. Write the total amount due and add a statutory $20 time payment fee if you 
are paying late. A mandatory court fee of $30 must be added to the total of each 

ticket. 

 
    

Your Signature / Date 

Parent Signature (Required of under 18) / Date 

Name (as it appears on you traffic ticket) 

Address 

City, State, ZIP 

Daytime Phone Number 

Option 1: Attend a defensive driving class. 
 
One moving violation may be dismissed. If you have a commercial driver 

license, you are not eligible regardless of the vehicle you were driving. 

You can attend a class once every two (2) years for any eligible violation 
listed in the Fine/Sanction Schedule. You may attend class for only ONE 

violation even if there are multiple violations listed on the traffic ticket. 

You must pay a fine, appear in court or request a hearing for additional 

violations. For more information on the DDC program, call (888) 334-5565 

or visit www.azdrive.com. 

 
You may be eligible to attend defensive driving class if: 

 You have not attended a class in Arizona for a ticket issued in the last two (2) 

years. 

 You do not contest your ticket by requesting a hearing (See option 3) 

 The violation is listed in the Fine/Sanction Schedule. 

 You have a valid driver license or identification card. 

 The violation did not involve an accident with serious injury or death. 

16081 N. Civic Center Plaza | Surprise, Arizona 85374 | Phone: (623) 222-4800 | Fax: (623) 222-4801 | TTY: (623) 222-4802 

Court Hours: Monday - Thursday from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. except holidays 

Web site: www.surpriseaz.gov/court | www.supreme.state.az.us/publicaccess 

You just received a traffic ticket and this document will explain your options or go to www.surpriseaz.gov/court 

 Read this thoroughly 

 Read the ticket thoroughly 

 Failure to comply with requirements of the traffic ticket may result in an arrest 

warrant, entry of a default judgment, suspension of your driving privileges 

 addition of collection costs and/or other penalties  

Your traffic ticket has check boxes next to each listed violation. You must appear in 
court on the appearance date if the Criminal, Criminal Traffic, or Petty Offense box is 

marked for any listed violation. If only Civil boxes are marked, you have four (4) op-

tions. You may need to choose more than one option if more than one  violation is 

listed on the ticket 

Advantages of Attending class for the violation: 

 There is no fine of conviction. 

 You do not appear in court. 

 No points are placed on your driving record. 

 Persons with a graduated license will not have to attend mandatory Traffic Survival 

School through MVD. 

 Persons with a red light violation of any kind will not have to attend mandatory Traffic 

Survival School through MVD. 

 

Registration Instructions: 

Contact an accredited school within seven (7) days of receiving a ticket. The school will 

notify you within two (2) business days if you are not eligible. You must complete class 
at least seven (7) days before the appearance date written on the ticket. Have your copy 

of the ticket with you when you call to register. If you are eligible, you may request an 

extension to attend class. If you have been to court to request a continuance, you must 
bring your continuance form to class. Bring your current driver license, your copy of the 

ticket and a money order. The school does not accept cash or personal checks. Call (623) 

222-4800 to replace a lost ticket. 

        

Total Fine Amount: $   

Mandatory Court Fee: $    + 30.00 

Total Amount Due: $    =  

 

 
Step 3: Select a method of payment below and complete the Personal Information box 

below. 

 
Step 4: Mail this form, along with payment and a copy of the ticket, at least five days 

prior to the appearance date written on the front of the ticket. 

 

 

Payment Information     (Please select method of payment) 

Write the six(6) or eight(8) digit ticket number as it appears on the upper corner of the 
traffic ticket: 

Credit Card Number / Expiration Date  3 or 4 digit CVV/CVC # 

Cardholder Name (Please Print)   

Cardholder Signature   

□  Money Order □  Personal Check □  Cashier’s Check 
         (Make check/money order payable to Surprise City Court) 

□  MasterCard □  Visa  

1 2 3 4 5 

        

 

Step 3: Write the six (6) or eight (8) digit ticket number as it appears on the upper corner 

of the traffic ticket: 

 
 

 

 
Step 4: Complete Personal Information 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 5: Mail this form and a copy of the traffic ticket at least seven days prior to the 
appearance date listed on the ticket. The court will mail you a civil traffic hearing  

Notice that tells you when to appear in court for a hearing. If you do not receive a hear-

ing notice within 7 days, please call (623)222-4800. 

You may be required to see a judge, but you will not have a courtroom hearing with the 
witnesses that day. Requests for court date extensions are not accepted by phone; you 

must appear or file a written motion. 

Call (623) 222-4800 or go to www.surpriseaz.gov/court for more information 
 

If you need accommodations for disability, please call (623) 222-4800 



 On or After 1/1/2012 

Violation Code Amount 

  

FAILURE TO CHANGE ADDRESS  

28-448A. $153 

(OR) Fine suspended with proof address was changed with the Motor  

Vehicle Division. Visit MVD web site at www.servicearizona.com for online 
services and information.  

  

PEDESTRIAN VIOLATIONS  

28-645A2B & A3D, 28-646A2 & B  

28-793A to 28-793C. $153 

  

EQUIPMENT VIOLATIONS  

28-921A1A to 28-953C. $153 

28-955A to 28-95501B. $241 

Proof of correction of an equipment or mechanical violation  may reduce the fine if 

receipts of repair or purchase are provided to the court 

  

VEHICLE AND TITLE VIOLATIONS  

28-2153A. $153 

(OR) with valid proof of current registration. $43 

28-2322. $494 

28-2354A1 to 28-2354B3. $153 

  

REGISTRATION VIOLATIONS  

28-2158C. $153 

28-2532A. $582 

(OR).    $63 
With valid proof of current registration after violation date. Mail a copy of valid regis-

tration, ticket and payment. Visit MVD web site at www.servicearizona.com for online 

services and information. (OR) $0 with proof of valid registration when the violation 

occurred. Mail a copy of the valid registration and ticket.  

  

DRIVER LICENSE VIOLATIONS  

28-3151A & 28-3222. $153 

(OR) Mail or Present valid proof of current driver’s license to have the 

sanction reduced. $43 

28-3169A. $153 
(OR) No fine if you provide proof of a valid driver license at the time of the violation.  

  

INSURANCE VIOLATIONS  

28-4135A. $948 

You must pay the full fine amount or request a hearing. 

28-4139A. $490.50 

(OR) with MVD $50 reinstatement receipt. $293 

(OR) Dismissed with mandatory insurance suspension clearance from MVD.  

28-4135B & C. $948 

If you have proof of insurance for the date of violation on the vehicle listed on the 

complaint, you may mail in the proof to obtain a dismissal. In all other situations you 

must appear on or before the appearance date on your traffic ticket. 

A conviction of ARS 28-4135 (No Proof of Insurance) requires mandatory fine and 

suspension of your license and registration. If you did not have insurance on the date of 

the violation, the mandatory fine may be reduced ($293) and the elimination of  

suspension may occur if (1) you do not have excessive prior convictions for no insur-

ance (2) you provide the Court with proof that you purchased a six month insurance 

policy; and (3) you provide a copy of your driving record from the Motor Vehicle 

Division which may be obtained at www.servicearizona.com. 

  

SEAT BELT VIOLATION  

28-909A1, A2 & B. $51.30 

  

CHILD PASSENGER RESTRAINT VIOLATION  

28-907A. $124.50 

Pay fine (OR) to receive $0 fine: Mail proof of subsequent purchase of child restraint 

system before scheduled court date (OR) Attend CHILDREN ARE PRICELESS PAS-

SENGERS PROGRAM (CAPP)  

Visit www.surpriseaz.com/court or call (623) 222-4800 for a list of classes  

Fine/Sanction Schedule (New fines effective January 1, 2012) 

You must appear in court on or before the appearance date on your traffic ticket. If your violation is not listed below or if your violation is for an accident resulting in 

serious injury or death (see Option 4: Appear in Court). Excessive speeding in violation of 28-701.02A2 is a criminal offense and you must appear in court. 

 

Violations eligible for defensive driving class 

 
Find the violation code written in the Section box on the ticket and 

match it to a violation code listed below under the Violation Code 

heading. The correct fine amount for that violation is listed in the  
Amount column to the right. Add the Default Amount** if you are 

paying 7 days after the appearance date written on the ticket. 

 

Violations NOT eligible for defensive driving class 

** Default Amount is a $50 fee for processing a suspension of your driver 
license for failure to appear, failure to pay the full fine amount due, for failure 

to complete defensive driving class, failure to appear in court for a requested 

traffic hearing or paying reduced fines without providing adequate proof of 
compliance. Collection fees may be added. If you have been suspended you 

will be required to pay a reinstatement fee at MVD. 

 
 

NOTE: An additional statutory time payment fee of $20 must be added to a 

total of each ticket (not each violation) paid after the appearance date written 
on the ticket. 

Instrucciones En Español 
 
Por favor lea esta sección primero: 

Usted acaba de recibir una infracción. Este documento le explicará 

sus opciones. Por favor lea éste documento junto con los dos lados de su 
infracción. 

 

El no cumplir con los requisitos de su infracción puede resultar 

en un Orden de Arresto, fallo por incumplimiento, suspensión de 

su licencia de manejar y/o otras sanciones. 

 

Si la infracción es criminal, usted debe presentarse a la corte en la fecha de 

su audencia. 

 
Si sus cargos son únicamente civiles, usted tiene cuatro (4) opciónes. Quizás 

necesitara escoger más de una opción, si es que más de un cargo esta anotada 

en su infracción. 
 

Opción 1 – Asiste a una clase de manejo defensivo 

Una (1) infracción de tránsito será desechada y no habrá puntos en su 
registro de manejar, si usted asiste a la escuela de manejo defensivo. Debe llenar los 

requisitos para calificar y pagar la registración de la clase. La escuela le dará el costo 

de su curso. 

 

 

Opcion 2—Pagar por teléfono, correo, o en persona. 

Usted no tiene que presentarse al tribunal se usted elige renunciar su 
derecho a una audencia, acepta declararse responsable y pagar la multa(s). 

Hay un costo de $20 si está pagando después de la fecha de su 

audencia anotada en la infracción. 
 

Opción 3 – Solicitud Para Una Audencia 

Usted tiene el derecho de pedir una audencia frente de un juez. 
El juez determinará si usted es responsable por haber cometido 

la(s) infracción(es). 

 

Opción 4 – Presentarse al Tribunal 

Usted puede presentarse durante las horas de negocio para pagar la(s) 

multa(s), mostrar comprobantes de cumplimiento y/o solicitar una audencia. 
 

 

 
*Si usted necesita asistencia adicional en español, favor de llamar al 

(623)222-4800. También puede visitar al www.surpriseaz.gov/court 

 On/After 
 1/1/2012 

Violation Code Amount 
28-644A1 & A2 $183 

28645A1A & A1B, 28-645C $183 

28-645A3A & A3C, 28-645B $183 
28-646A1 $183 

28-647.1 & 28-647.2 $183 

28-651 $183 

  

A.R.S. 28-645A3A & 28.647.1—If you pay or are found responsible for 

either of these two violations, MVD will order you to attend traffic  
survival school. 

  

28-701A Speeding 
To determine the fine amount for this violation, refer to the Speed section of 

the ticket. Subtract the number written in the Posted Box from the number  

written in the Approx. box. The resulting number is the mph over the speed 
limit.  To the right of each mph over the speed limit category below is the 

correct fine amount to be paid. 

 
28-701A AND Failure to Control Speed to Avoid Collision  

0-9 mph over $183 

10-15 mph over $203 

16-20 mph over $223 

21-29 mph over $263 
30-39 mph over $363 

40 mph or more over $483 

  

28-701E $183 

28-704A $183 
28-721A to 28-775A $183 

28-729A & B $183 

  

28-797F & G $183 

28-797H & I $264.97 

28-855B $183 
28-857A1 $490.50 

28-815A $153 


